

## Santa Susana Mountain Park Association

Dedicated to the Preservation of the Simi Hills and Santa Susana Mountains

P.O. Box 4831 Chatsworth, CA 91313-4831 <u>ssmpa.com</u> mail@ssmpa.com

September 9, 2019

## To: Assembly Environmental Safety and Toxic Materials Committee

The Board of Directors of the Santa Susana Mountain Park Association **Opposes SB633**, as introduced by Senator Henry Stern.

Please Slow Down!



Please do not push this hastily cobbled legislation through the process without allowing reasonable time for responsible analysis and debate.

The bill, as it reads, would make a substantial change in the handling of contamination cleanups by allowing DTSC to consider traditional institutional controls, or ignore them, as it sees fit,

SSMPA urges you to **slow down the process** and resist enacting unintended consequences in California's long-established body of property law.

Sincerely,

Thomas a Macktal

Tom Nachtrab President, Santa Susana Mountain Park Association P. O. Box 4831, Chatsworth, CA 91313-4831

Cc by EMAIL:

The Honorable Henry Stern State Senate, District 27 State Capitol, Room 5080 Sacramento, CA 95814 senator.stern@senate.ca.gov

The Honorable Bill Quirk Chair, Assembly Environmental Safety & Toxic Material Committee State Capitol, Room 2163 Sacramento, CA 95814 <u>Assemblymember.quirk@assembly.ca.gov</u> The Honorable Ben Allen Chair, Senate Environmental Quality Committee State Capitol, Room 4076 Sacramento, CA 95814 <u>senator.allen@senate.ca.gov</u>

## About Santa Susana Mountain Park Association:

Santa Susana Mountain Park Association is a 48 year-old non-profit organization based in Chatsworth, Los Angeles, California.

We represent approximately 700 members and concerned citizens, and we partner with many organizations to promote ecological and recreational quality in Southern California.

SSMPA's mission is to preserve and protect the Simi Hills, Santa Susana Mountains, and regional open space.

SSMPA Board of Directors: Teena Takata, John Luker, Michael Horton, Bob Dager, Darlene Brothers-Wageman, Warren Stone, Donna Nachtrab, Tom Nachtrab, Wendi Gladstone, Sharon Shingai, Dean Wageman